Discord is one of the most eminent social media platforms. People often come along to use this platform to have seamless communication especially while gaming. As we go on utilizing Discord’s services, our inbox fills with a lot of messages from different people. Some of them may remain active, while some may not. So, if you are looking for ways to close a DM on Discord, you are at the right place.
As the trend of online gaming and digital appearances is taking a slight hike, your Discord server can fill with a lot of messages. Due to this, you can lose track of important chats. Luckily, Discord offers features where you can hide, remove or close a DM on their platform. This feature can be utilized to keep your inbox clean and also help you focus on the important chats. Let’s not wait anymore and dive into our guide.
You may know that you can use Discord on your computer (console) and via mobile application. The user interface may look familiar, but the steps may vary on both of these. Let us guide you through each one of them and teach you how to close direct messages on Discord.
How to close DMs on Discord on Computer
- Open the discord application on your desktop or discord web.
- Sign in to your Discord account, and navigate to the direct message section (you will find it on the left side of the screen).
- Now in the conversation list, select the chat you want to close and right-click on it.
- Once the menu opens, you will find a ‘Close DM‘ option. Tap on it, and the chat will hide.
To access chat again, just search for the (user) name in the search bar. You can also go on the user’s profile and click on ‘start a conversation‘.
P.S: By closing a DM your conversation will just hide; it won’t get deleted. So, you can hide/close it whenever you want to and access it to re-initiate chat.
How to close a DM on Discord Mobile App
- Download the Discord mobile application and sign in with your account.
- Now, navigate to the home tab, and open the DM that you wish to close.
- On the top right, you will find three vertical dots, click on it and select ‘Close DM‘ from the menu.
Similar to how the DM works on a computer, the closed DM will not get permanently deleted. You can simply search for the closed chat on the mobile phone by searching for the name in the search bar.
Phew! It is time that you can manage your inbox and clean it with important conversations. If you have any queries, then simply let us know in the comment section below. We hope that our guide helped you close your direct messages on Discord. It is time to have a hassle-free experience on your favourite social media platform, Discord. Till next time, kudos!
Yes, you can close DM on Discord. It is a simple process, you just have to right click on the chat and choose “Close DM“.
No, the messages do not get deleted if you close DM on Discord. Closing the DM on discord simply means that the chats get hidden and you can access the messages later.
You can find closed DM on Discord by searching the user name on the search bar. You can also access them by right clicking on the username and clicking on “start conversation“.